Pro Athlete

The Professional Athlete

2010 Planet Cup Soccer Tournament

2010 Planet Cup Soccer Tournament

The significantly awaited and anticipated sporting party of the calendar year, the 2010 Earth Cup Soccer event last but not least kicked off on June 11, 2010 at the Soccer City stadium in Johannesburg, South Africa.

The FIFA entire world cup tournament is held once every 4 yrs and it truly is a very long bidding and qualifying approach, for the taking part international locations and the respective teams. Italy won the very last planet cup championship which was held in Germany.

FIFA (Federation Internationale de Football Association) is accountable for the business and governance of football’s significant intercontinental tournaments, most notably the FIFA Entire world Cup, held because 1930. FIFA also has acknowledged 6 other confederations to assistance oversee various locations across the environment.

A whole of 32 teams skilled to acquire section in the last 2010 Earth Cup event from many continents and areas as talked about in the higher than area (About FIFA). The qualification system began in August 2007 with 204 national teams taking part from all over the environment.

The qualification attract for the 2010 Environment Cup was held in Durban, South Africa in November 2009. Qualified teams are positioned in 8 groups as shown under:

– Group A: South Africa, Mexico, Uruguay, France
– Team B: Korea Republic, Argentina, Nigeria, Greece
– Group C: Usa, England, Slovenia, Algeria
– Group D: Germany, Australia, Serbia, Ghana
– Group E: Netherlands, Denmark, Japan, Cameroon
– Team F: Italy, Paraguay, New Zealand, Slovakia
– Group G: Brazil, Korea DPR, Cote d’Ivoire, Portugal
– Group H: Spain, Switzerland, Honduras, Chile

Groups inside of each group will play every other. Two teams from reach team, with the greatest points, will carry on to group of 16 who will have to compete with the each individual other to proceed to the quarters, semis and finals.

The soccer matches will be held across numerous metropolitan areas in South Africa and 10 specific venues were being picked. Underneath is a checklist of all the stadiums and the towns:

1. Inexperienced Point Stadium, Cape City
2. Moses Mabhida Stadium, Durban
3. Ellis Park Stadium, Johannesburg
4. Soccer City Stadium, Johannesburg
5. Cost-free Point out Stadium, Bloemfontein
6. Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, Port Elizabeth
7. Mbombela Stadium, Nelspruit
8. Peter Mokaba Stadium, Polokwane
9. Royal Bafokeng Stadium, Rustenburg
10. Loftus Versfeld Stadium, Pretoria

Zakumi, is the formal mascot for the 2010 FIFA Environment Cup, an anthropomorphised leopard with green hair. His identify arrives from “ZA”, the global abbreviation for South Africa, and “kumi”, a term that indicates “ten” in different African languages.

Jabulani is name of the soccer match ball for the 2010 FIFA Globe Cup, produced by Adidas, which signifies “bringing joy to all people” in isiZulu. The 11 various colors on the ball symbolize the 11 formal languages of South Africa, the 11 assorted South African communities that exist during the place, and the 11 gamers on the pitch.